Log in

  • Home
  • Saturday, August 07, 2021 12:46 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Stay tuned to hear from our president, Dr. Susan Dresser, as she weaves the history of Oklahoma Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists and where we go from here...

What is a CNS ?

The clinical nurse specialist has been a part of the health care industrial complex in the United States for more than 60 years. Through the decades, the profession has become widely accepted in the health care system as a standardized, licensed, and fully regulated health care occupation, and one that significantly impacts the nation’s economy by providing safe, low-cost, and effective evidence-based health care services.

Clinical nurse specialists are advanced practice registered nurses who have graduate preparation (Master’s or Doctorate) in nursing. Like other advanced practice registered nurses, they are trained in physiology, pharmacology and physical assessment in addition to their particular areas of specialty.

Clinical nurse specialists are leaders in health care.   Watch the newest videos from the National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS) and the Clinical Nurse Specialist Institute (CNSI) about the role of the CNS.

2019 Video Competition Winners

First place in the Team Category
Lori Brittingham, MS, RN, CNS, ACCNS-N, of Reading Hospital for “The Reading Hospital CNS team: We Won’t Stop’’

We Won't Stop

    Practice Resources (from NACNS)

                    CNS Competencies

Clinical Nurse Specialist Competencies are no longer a separate document.  They are incorporated in the revision of the CNS Statement for Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice and Education (CNS Statement). NACNS is pleased to announce the Revised CNS Statement on Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice and Education, third edition (CNS Statement) is now available in the NACNS store in both Digital and Print versions. 

    Requirements for APRNs Adding a New       

                  Specialty & Certification

Requirements for APRNs Adding a New Specialty & Certification

Prescriptive Authority Renewal Information

Prescriptive Authority Renewal Information from The Oklahoma Board of Nursing


          CNS Toolkits (from NACNS)

                    Cost Analysis Toolkit

     A Business Guide for the Clinical Nurse Specialist

Today’s health care landscape is ever-changing. Initiatives to improve patient care and safety must take cost savings into account. Through their direct work with patients and families, nurses at the bedside and hospital and health system leaders, clinical nurse specialists are uniquely prepared to assess, analyze and improve the business of health care while continuing to put the patient first. The CNSs ability to translate value impact in the clinical setting is crucial.

To address this gap, the NACNS Practice Committee created a resource to help CNSs employ key business and cost analysis tools to better describe and quantify CNS contributions to health care.

The Cost Analysis Toolkit includes:

  • A checklist describing a Six Sigma process to guide CNSs in a cost analysis change strategy,
  • An extensive literature review with assessment and grading of each articles and direct access to resources ; and
  • A thorough FAQ.

Download the Cost Analysis Toolkit today for a small fee, $10 for members and $50 for non-members.

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software